Monday, January 17, 2005

Indonesia will let Asean forces 'remain indefinitely'

ASEAN: Association of South East Asian Nations = Brunei Darussalam, Cambodia, Indonesia, Laos, Malaysia, Myanmar, Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and VietNam.
KUALA LUMPUR--Indonesia will allow troops from neighbouring Southeast Asian countries to remain in Aceh province for as long as necessary to assist tsunami relief efforts, the Malaysian government said on Monday.

Senior Indonesian military officials made the assurance to army chiefs from the 10-country Association of Southeast Asian Nations who are holding an annual informal meeting in Kuala Lumpur, said Malaysian Deputy Prime Minister Najib Razak.

'For friendly Asean countries, there is no deadline for their involvement in humanitarian work in Aceh,' Mr Najib told a news conference. 'The important thing is that there is no such imposition as to a specific timetable for our withdrawal from Aceh.'
Read the whole thing here (ST Jan 17)

Links to this post:

Create a Link

<< Home